Business Going In A Different Direction Than I'm Ready For.

Decorating By Dreme Updated 27 Jun 2011 , 10:09pm by imagenthatnj

Dreme Posted 26 Jun 2011 , 5:25am
post #1 of 14

Ok I'm starting to stress way too much about this on a daily basis. I just need to vent and get it out. I'm really not liking 3d cakes.

As some of you have read in other post I do not know how to do carved cakes. I do not know how to figure out serving amounts or the cake size to start with. I do however know how to price the cakes once someone else figures out the technical stuff. Seriously math is not my forte. Trying to figure out anything that doesn't have a set number of servings or a chart, will only cause me to stress. As an artist I do know how to carve and sculpt, but not for a mathematical purpose. As an artist I only picture the whole piece, I do not see it from an engineering point of view. I do not try and figure out how it got there it just got there. So if you put a block of clay in front of me and told me to sculpt a boat or something, telling me it needs to feed 50 doesn't mean anything to me, I just know how to sculpt a boat. Whether it feeds 50 or not, I don't know, I never cut one of my own cakes. I don't know how many pieces are there. I just see a boat. Now when it comes to support beyond the basics, I don't know about that either as other art mediums don't necessarily need support.