Homemade Cakes

Baking By Rae9 Updated 27 Jun 2011 , 9:52am by Jennifer353

Rae9 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rae9 Posted 24 Jun 2011 , 11:52pm
post #1 of 5

I am just starting out cake making and I am looking for a couple of full proof recipes. My husband seems to think that I should stick to cake mixes with added instant pudding but I would love to make my own from scratch recipes. I have been looking through the recipes section and feel a little over whelmed by all the recipes and the couple I have tried have not turned out the way I wanted. If anyone could help me out and suggest their favorite recipes that would be great!!!

4 replies
Narie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Narie Posted 25 Jun 2011 , 12:43am
post #2 of 5

Sometimes the problem with a scratch cake is the recipe; and at others it is the baker's technique. Since you are a novice, it may be a matter of over or under mixing or baking temp or times. Even measuring methods can cause problems. Flour needs to be spooned into a measuring cup rather than dipping the cup into the canister. Do you measure with absolute precision or enthusiastic abandon? (Precision is best.) If you want a no fail recipe, stick with those based on a cake mix. If you really want to bake from scratch, start with a basic. I would suggest a chocolate cake as a starting place, Hershey has two excellent recipes which are not particularly difficult- 'Perfectly Chocolate Chocolate Cake' http://www.hersheys.com/pure-recipes/184/HERSHEY'S and 'Black Magic Cake.' http://www.hersheys.com/recipes/recipes-by-type/13/Cakes-Frostings.aspx -(It's in the second row with chocolate butterflies on top.)

Hershey also has a section with each recipe giving explanations of problems and possible causes.

Rae9 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rae9 Posted 25 Jun 2011 , 9:44pm
post #3 of 5

Great Advise...Thank you!

Lita829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lita829 Posted 25 Jun 2011 , 11:10pm
post #4 of 5