Quilting???

Decorating By JessicaN Updated 22 Jun 2011 , 4:19pm by JessicaN

JessicaN Posted 21 Jun 2011 , 9:13pm
post #1 of 8

So I do not have a 3 diamond cutter, I do have the embosser/cutter tool with the wheel that can be changed.

I swear I once saw a tutorial that had a women showing how to make a templet with wax paper before she used her hand tool to quilt the fondant. Now of course that I would like to do it I can not find the tutorial! ANYWHERE!! =(

I will be covering my cake Friday or Saturday night...so I can buy the 3 diamond tool if I have to... but it would be nice to use the tools I have!

Does anyone had any suggestions on how to do this, any helpful hints would be greatly appreciated since I have never done this before!

Thanks!

7 replies
cake_architect Posted 21 Jun 2011 , 11:07pm
post #3 of 8
Quote:

such a cool idea! i wish i would've seen this before i bought my mat lol!

lorenaortegarox Posted 21 Jun 2011 , 11:09pm
post #4 of 8

i bought an impression mat that helped but dogluvr's advice is brilliant!

maitej17 Posted 21 Jun 2011 , 11:14pm
post #5 of 8

I bought a small impression mat and I use the wilton rolling tool to make it more defined after using the mat. I am "straight line deficient" and would never try it w/out my mat first. I've only used the technique once (baby shower pillow cake) but LOVED it and looking for excuses to use it again.

JessicaN Posted 21 Jun 2011 , 11:21pm
post #6 of 8

WOW! Thank you! Although I do not have the supplies to make this... I was thinking to myself if I could just find a template maybe I could wing it... and ask and you shall receive! Thank you thank you thank you!

Funny I think of what I do with my cakes as art...but any other area I am soooooooooo not artistic!

I can't wait to post pics of how it turns out!

brown_suga Posted 22 Jun 2011 , 12:16am
post #7 of 8

A right angle ruler should do the trick. One that looks likes this...