Home Baker Making Full Sheet Cake-Oh My!

Decorating By lstalder Updated 21 Jun 2011 , 2:44pm by HobbyCaker

lstalder Posted 20 Jun 2011 , 3:45am
post #1 of 11

I'm a home baker who bought a full sheet cake pan in which I baked a cake in my churches oven. How do people manage these? It was incredibly heavy to lift in and out of stove, took forever to bake, difficult to invert, hard to adjust on the cake board and it barely fits in my freezer. I can't imagine how I am going to torte it. I would love tips from those of you who make these. Thanks

10 replies
sacakesandbakes Posted 20 Jun 2011 , 4:04am
post #2 of 11

I torted once and cursed the fact my husband told me to do it. I cut the cake through the middle the best I could. Then I used a cookie flat cookie sheet to slide between the layers and lifted off the top layer. Then slide the cake back on top after filled and frost. It is a heavy cake and hard to manage.

bakingkat Posted 20 Jun 2011 , 4:06am
post #3 of 11

They are easiest to handle and less likely to break etc if you freeze them for a while. When you go to tort them make sure you have a nice long serrated knife, or use the good old fashioned string trick (that is assuming you don't have an agbay). When you go to lift the torted layer off use a full sheet cake board dusted with powdered sugar and slide that in between the 2 pieces. leave on the board until you are ready to put it back on and it should slide off pretty easily. In the future, I like to bake thin layers instead of torting because it's easier, and takes less time to cook. Also as far as inverting it in the future, put parchment paper over the cake, then the cake board, then an upside down sheet pan. The extra pan gives you more support, and just flip quickly. Since the pan is upside down it is easy to take the cake off when need be. Good luck!

matthewkyrankelly Posted 20 Jun 2011 , 4:08am
post #4 of 11