Fondant In Hot Temps

Decorating By MRsweettooth Updated 22 Jun 2011 , 5:27am by Marianna46

MRsweettooth Posted 18 Jun 2011 , 6:11am
post #1 of 6

Hi, I am fairly new to cakes and I have been asked to make a wedding cake this August that will be held outside. Now when I say outside, I mean SETX weather. Hot and very humid. I warned the buyer about cake and outside not being a good match. Would commercial fondant hold up some what? I make my own, but I do not trust it as much as I need to for this challenge.

Any tips or advice would be so helpful and muchly appreciated.

5 replies
Marianna46 Posted 21 Jun 2011 , 11:31pm
post #2 of 6

I live in the tropical weather capital of the world, but I'm originally from Houston, so I get where you're coming from. When I use fondant, whether home-made or ready-made, I always prepare it with 1-2 teaspoons of CMC and 1-2 teaspoons of shortening per pound of fondant. I also knead in some extra powdered sugar if it looks like it needs it. So far, things have worked out pretty well with these tweaks.

Texas_Rose Posted 21 Jun 2011 , 11:55pm
post #3 of 6

The fondant is not likely to be the problem. It's what's underneath the fondant that will start to melt, falling away from the sides of the cake and making bulges in the fondant.

An outdoor reception in August in TX is nuts. I'm not suggesting you repeat that to your customer of course, but it's a bad idea.

What about a dummy cake? Especially if you put the fondant on a couple weeks in advance and let it harden, it would be very unlikely to melt as long as the faux cake was sitting in the shade. Then make kitchen cakes and keep them indoors somewhere until it's time to serve the cake.

Marianna46 Posted 22 Jun 2011 , 4:39am
post #4 of 6