Need Advice On What To Charge For This Cake

Decorating By k4of9 Updated 25 Jun 2011 , 8:58pm by mombabytiger

k4of9 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
k4of9 Posted 18 Jun 2011 , 12:35am
post #1 of 9

Hello,
Last year I made a wedding cake for my sisters's wedding because she could not afford the cake she wanted. I did it as a gift, but since then I have been asked quite a bit to make cakes for others.
I am by no means a professional cake maker/baker. It is legal in my state to sell baked goods out of your home with the cottage law.
I was recently asked to make a 25th anniversary cake ( 6 days notice) 3 tiers: 12" 9" 6" and it is not for anyone I have ever met. My aunt asked me to do it for her future daughter in laws parents because their original baker fell through & they had both seen some cakes I had recently done.
Now I know that my cakes are not as good as most on here but I really have no idea what to charge since I have never charged before...but I don't want to be asked all the time now just because they think I will do it for super cheap. I am going to try to attach the pictures and I am hoping you can help me with this.
The flames and flags are made out of gumpaste and the the cakes are vanilla and chocolate with vanilla and chocolate buttercream fillings and frosting. They are covered in mmf. Thanks so much for any help. icon_smile.gif

8 replies
cakegirl1973 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakegirl1973 Posted 18 Jun 2011 , 12:42am
post #2 of 9

Your pictures did not attach. Can you post them via the photo gallery?

k4of9 Posted 18 Jun 2011 , 1:20am
post #3 of 9

Sorry I tried to attach the picture and it just won't go. I don't know what I am doing wrong. I will try the gallery.

BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 18 Jun 2011 , 3:54am
post #4 of 9