How To Make White Icing Appear A Bit More Ivory

Decorating By vickym Updated 20 Jun 2011 , 12:44am by sweettreat101

vickym Posted 17 Jun 2011 , 6:33pm
post #1 of 6

Hi, hope this is in the right place, sorry I am a newbie. I am doing cupcakes for a friend wedding and she has just asked if I could do a small cake for the top tier and decorate it with roses. Unfortuantely I havent got the time to prepare the cake for her ontop of everything else so we have agreed that she will purchase a plain small white iced cake and as I already have made some roses for another party I am doing I can use those roses for her wedding as the colours are the same. Unfortunately the only cake she can get is iced in white and her colours are red and ivory, so what I wanted to ask was is there any way of dusting the cake or something similar to make it appear more ivory than white or would you think that the white would look ok. The ivory roses that I have made are very pale ivory not cream and there is not much in the actual colour difference. Any advice most appreciated as I am new to all of this and learning as I go along. Vicky xxxx

5 replies
Marianna46 Posted 18 Jun 2011 , 1:07am
post #2 of 6

I think I'd try mixing a tiny bit of gold luster dust in with some super pearl and dusting with that. But I'd try it first on a small sample - this isn't something I've done, I'm just brainstorming. Either that or you could ice over it with some of the same icing you used for the cupcakes - that probably wouldn't take much longer than brushing it with dust, and it would be much more even. Actually, I don't even know if you can put dusts on buttercream (is that what you're using?) and have it come out even.

leah_s Posted 18 Jun 2011 , 2:26am
post #3 of 6

You'd probably need to airbrush it if it's bc. However, if the wedding is in the evening and there is candlelight, everything will take on a golden glow anyway,and the color difference probably won't even be noticeable.