New To This...please Help!

Decorating By nanasmom Updated 14 Jun 2011 , 2:02am by kneenah

nanasmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nanasmom Posted 14 Jun 2011 , 12:02am
post #1 of 6

So I promised DD I would make her a cake for her Fancy Nancy birthday party. I did not realize I am in way over my head since I have never done this before but I am determined!

I have a few questions...

1) I am planning on doing a two tier round cake with each tier being two layers. I want to do one chocolate tier and one white tier. Can someone point me in the direction of good cake recipes that are easy to work with/will stand up to fondant (or maybe cream? I can go either way.)

2) Is the Wilton fondant worth it - taste and ease of working with? Or should I make the marshmallow version?

Thanks!

5 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 14 Jun 2011 , 12:55am
post #2 of 6

1. There are tons of recipes in the Recipe Section on here.

2. Wilton fondant is disgusting. I don't even consider it a food product and only use it on dummy cakes. Try SatinIce.

nanasmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nanasmom Posted 14 Jun 2011 , 12:57am
post #3 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by leah_s

1. There are tons of recipes in the Recipe Section on here.

2. Wilton fondant is disgusting. I don't even consider it a food product and only use it on dummy cakes. Try SatinIce.

tx Leah! Are there any specific types of cakes that hold up better or any would really do?

amygortoncakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amygortoncakes Posted 14 Jun 2011 , 1:08am
post #4 of 6