Piping On Sides Of Cakes

Decorating By Keciak Updated 13 Jun 2011 , 5:13am by indydebi

Keciak Posted 12 Jun 2011 , 8:54pm
post #1 of 9

Is there a trick to piping on the side of a cake? Is there a way to tilt the cake so that you are not working totally vertical? I'm new to this and am trying to work on the piping skills but it's not looking real good. I can't seem to find any video tutorials on this or even dvd's at my library. Thanks for any tips (no pun intended!).

8 replies
Elaine2581 Posted 12 Jun 2011 , 9:09pm
post #2 of 9

If you have a turntable that tilts that will help; but for very large cakes I don't trust mine. I usually just place it on the counter top and try to sit on a stool that will put me a little lower. I also like to use a laser level from my husband's tools, to beam a line across the area where I'm writing. Helps greatly in keeping it straight. Hope that helps some.

tokazodo Posted 12 Jun 2011 , 9:17pm
post #3 of 9

Laser levels are awesome tools for cake decorating. A friend recently came back from Afghanistan and will be headed back with in the next month. I called him out to the kitchen where I was caking and I said, "Dude, watch this! Lasers can be used for more then finding targets!"
I was using the laser to make a straight line to write the greeting on the cake. If you have two laser levels, you can make a cross hair to find the very center of the cake and to center other decorations.

I also rest the cake on the table and grab a stool.

Another thing I do to make piping easier on the sides of cakes is to thin the icing down with one or two tablespoons of corn syrup.

karateka Posted 12 Jun 2011 , 9:17pm
post #4 of 9

The best tip I ever got was from Jason Ellis at the class after the OSSAS. He braces his piping arm on something solid.