I Need Some Advice

Decorating By DinasSugarShack Updated 11 Jun 2011 , 10:02pm by DinasSugarShack

DinasSugarShack Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DinasSugarShack Posted 11 Jun 2011 , 3:14am
post #1 of 8

I am fairly new at this business and it seems that I am always underpricing. Anyway, I quoted a customer a price for a cake. It is is a pretty involved cake and had a lot of firsts for me so when I told her the price, I really did not know how much work would go into it.
so my question is, do I talk to her and tell her that I have to raise the price because I did not realize how much work was involved? is that tacky? My husband said that it was and just learn for next time.
I really don't know what to do, I obviously don't want to loose her as a customer but want to properly compensated for my work.
What do you think?

Dina

7 replies
BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 11 Jun 2011 , 3:21am
post #2 of 8

Sorry, but I agree with your DH. Consider this a learning experience for the next time.

When presenting yourself as a professional/business, it's up to you to know what you're offering and how much you need to be paid in order to make it worth your while. If you make a mistake, sadly, you have to eat it.

JMHO
Rae

LoveMeSomeCake615 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LoveMeSomeCake615 Posted 11 Jun 2011 , 3:35am
post #3 of 8

I agree, take it as a learning experience, you will know better for next time. It's not professional and I am thinking would not be received well for you to up the price on her after you quoted it. It could be viewed as a bait and switch kind of thing.

Sugarflowers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugarflowers Posted 11 Jun 2011 , 3:45am
post #4 of 8