How To Make Fondant Stripes / Strips

Decorating By leefeedesigns Updated 10 Apr 2013 , 1:53am by SetFree

leefeedesigns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leefeedesigns Posted 10 Jun 2011 , 12:40pm
post #1 of 25

hi i am a beginner and I need to make a fondant covered six" x 3" cake on top of that fondant i want to attach vertical fondant stripes all my attempts to cut straight strips of fondant by hand have failed i was wondering if the wilton fondant roler cutter works well or if there are any other methods i can try or use or any other products i could use that would make this easier and the stripes more uniform right now they are looking more like waves..... icon_redface.gif thanks in advance

24 replies
TerriLynn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TerriLynn Posted 10 Jun 2011 , 1:01pm
post #2 of 25

I couldn't cut a straight line if my life depended on it. icon_lol.gif I have the Wilton Fondant Roller/Cutter because it came in one of the class kits and it has worked well for me. You can space the rollers as you wish and even cut wavy lines. It only cuts two or three strips at a time which can be time consuming, but I just cut long strips and then cut them again to the length I need. Good luck!

soledad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
soledad Posted 10 Jun 2011 , 1:09pm
post #3 of 25

I bought the Wilton ribbon cutter and after two uses it broke, so to me it is not worth it. I made a pretty cake for my son's girlfriend, and this is what I did:
When I was picking the stripes they lost their " straightness" so I decided to roll the fondant with a little tylose and let it sit a while to dry like 15 min. after that time I pick it up and place it. the stripes still stretched but not as much. Next time I will let it dry a bit longer. HTH
CIAO

newcakester Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
newcakester Posted 10 Jun 2011 , 1:15pm
post #4 of 25