How Much To Charge For This Cake?

Decorating By cakeman76 Updated 9 Jun 2011 , 6:55pm by kristiemarie

cakeman76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeman76 Posted 9 Jun 2011 , 4:54pm
post #1 of 7

Hello to everyone on cake central...

My name is Josh, and I just finished my daughters birthday cake. I have others interested in me doing some cakes like this for them as well.

I made all the figures out of fondant, Cake completly covered in fondant and layers are 9", 8" and 6".

How much would you charge for a cake like this? I am not a professional this is only my third cake ever.

Look forward to chatting with all of you.

Here is the link to the cake.

http://cakecentral.com/gallery/2061776

6 replies
Marianna46 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marianna46 Posted 9 Jun 2011 , 5:03pm
post #2 of 7

Very cute cake, Josh! There's a great little tool for calculating the number of servings you can get from each tier of your cake by a woman on CC named metria:
http://shinymetalobjects.net/cake/calculator/cake_calculator.cgi
Once you know how many it will serve (or once you know how many servings you'll need so you can decide how much cake to make), multiply the number of servings by the price per serving (if you call or google a few high-end bakeries in your area, you can find out about what the going rate is) and you'll have an idea of what your cake should go for. HTH!

cakeman76 Posted 9 Jun 2011 , 5:06pm
post #3 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marianna46

Very cute cake, Josh! There's a great little tool for calculating the number of servings you can get from each tier of your cake by a woman on CC named metria:
http://shinymetalobjects.net/cake/calculator/cake_calculator.cgi