Fondant/gum Paste Parrott - Trouble Sticking Wings On

Decorating By ohmeohmommy Updated 9 Jun 2011 , 11:50pm by ohmeohmommy

ohmeohmommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ohmeohmommy Posted 9 Jun 2011 , 12:18am
post #1 of 6

I am pretty new to fondant and very new to characters. I am making a parrot to sit on top of my cake. I have made the body and wings, but I'm not sure how to make the wings stick to the body.
I made the body out of RKT and covered it in 50/50 fondant/gumpaste mixture. I then made the multicolored wings and stuck the colors together with some water (which didn't hold it together) and then toothpicks. So now I have these wings and I'm not sure how to get them to stick to the parrot body and stay securely.
I'm attempting to attach a pic, but not having much luck.
Any suggestions would be helpful!
Thanks,
Marla

5 replies
EmilyJo9 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
EmilyJo9 Posted 9 Jun 2011 , 12:52am
post #2 of 6

I would use royal icing which dries rock hard. You just need to find a way to prop the wings in place while the royal dries.

yummy_in_my_tummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummy_in_my_tummy Posted 9 Jun 2011 , 1:02am
post #3 of 6

Yep, royal icing should work well, or you can also try melted chocolate.

ohmeohmommy Posted 9 Jun 2011 , 1:13am
post #4 of 6

Perfect! I will give it a try. I haven't used royal icing before, so I'm off to find a recipe unless anyone has a convenient one to share!
Thanks!
Marla

Coral3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Coral3 Posted 9 Jun 2011 , 6:56am
post #5 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohmeohmommy

I'm attempting to attach a pic, but not having much luck.

If you want a photo to show up in your post, here's how: