Making Cakes On A Budget

Decorating By pheonix31571 Updated 10 Jun 2011 , 6:17pm by kristiemarie

pheonix31571 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pheonix31571 Posted 8 Jun 2011 , 7:34pm
post #1 of 12

Hi guys I am new to cake making and was wandering if their is any tricks or tips that you novices may know of that will cut down cost for a home baker.

Thank you so much for your response, thumbs_up.gif

11 replies
amygortoncakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amygortoncakes Posted 8 Jun 2011 , 7:47pm
post #2 of 12

Well first and foremost depending on where you are collect your 40% off coupons from Michaels or Joanns. I rarely pay full price for anything cake related.

Make miniature cakes, or practice techniques on cupcakes.

Start telling friends and family that you will make cakes for the cost of ingredients. (I know that there will be people that jump on the chance to tell you that by accepting payment for ingredients you are breaking the law and will be prosecuted...but come on)

Look out for the $0.98 sale on cake mixes at the grocery store and then stock up.

Good luck...I was you just a year ago and now I am making about 3 cakes a month for friends and family.

SarahBeth3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SarahBeth3 Posted 8 Jun 2011 , 7:52pm
post #3 of 12

Yes, the 40% off coupons are the #1 tip! I love getting new cake decorating stuff and the fact that it's 40% off makes it even more fun! If you have a Hobby Lobby in your area, they also do the 40% coupons, and Joann's and Michael's take competitor coupons, so you can go to one place and use 2 or three coupons all in one trip. (1 coupon per item)

DJSwans Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DJSwans Posted 8 Jun 2011 , 7:57pm
post #4 of 12