Stacking/fondant Slouching Problem! Please Help

Decorating By LeahMarieT Updated 8 Jun 2011 , 5:20pm by Jenn1013

LeahMarieT Posted 8 Jun 2011 , 1:15am
post #1 of 14

Ok so I'm still kind of new at this, but in the past couple of cakes I've made the fondant seems to slouch in between the filling of the bottom layer. For instance I made (2) 10" and then (2) 8" stacked on top... Used BC for filling and crumb coating, then fondant over.

I noticed the fondant started to slouch and you could kind of see like a ripple between the 2 bottom layers. As if it was too heavy or something. Am I making sense?

I used 4 plastic dowels in the bottom layer and a cake board for the (2) 8" layers, any advice or tips on what I can do differently to not get this effect?

Thanks so much!!

13 replies
Coral3 Posted 8 Jun 2011 , 1:23am
post #2 of 14

Did you allow the cake time to 'settle' after filling but before frosting all over? That would probably help. A lot of people pop a ceramic(?) tile on top of the cake to help the settling along. Otherwise it could be that the buttercream between layers was just too thick (or too soft maybe?)

If the support dowels were cut shorter than the total height of the decorated bottom tier, this would also cause problems. They would need to be the exact height so the weight of the top cake is not pressing down on the lower tier at all.

Texas_Rose Posted 8 Jun 2011 , 1:43am
post #3 of 14

It's probably not the weight of the upper tier, if your dowels are long enough.

I chill my cakes after I put the buttercream on and before the fondant goes on, and I don't get that line on the cakes anymore, even when I don't let them settle for a few hours.

BeesKnees578 Posted 8 Jun 2011 , 2:34am
post #4 of 14