I Almost Died!!! Please Keep Me In Your Prayers

Lounge By paula1234 Updated 9 Jun 2011 , 3:47am by costumeczar

paula1234 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
paula1234 Posted 3 Jun 2011 , 11:27pm
post #1 of 15

Please keep me in your prayers. I have been diabetic since I was 8 years old, now 44 years old. I have been so busy taking care of my family that I forgot about myself. We have had 5 deaths in the family in 5 years. The most recent was my father. He passed away this march after a very long illness. I developed a small sore on my left pinky toe. Didn't think too much about it. I inspect my feet daily. A must with diabetes. My shoe didn't seem to put pressure on it so I thought it may be the seam in my socks. Changed brand of socks. It kept getting worse. As a nurse I thought I could take care of it. Did not have the time to go to the doctor. After my father passed away, I sank into a deep depression. I found myself turning away cake orders, couldn't remember if I took my medications or not. I began to wonder if I had alzheimer's. I have a cubscoout group and we had our disrict banquet on April 27th. I helped our cub master cook the meal. I was on my feet for over 12 hours. The pain in my little toe was unbearable. The next day I went to the emergency room because my primary doctor could not fit me in. Ever since I had noticed the sore I tried to get into our wound clinic and they wounld not see me because my wound was not draining, even though I am diabetic. So here I am in the ER, with excruciating pain, they are more worried about my blood sugar. I am placed on an insulin drip. I understand that my blood sugar is important but by this time my whole foot is red swollen and can't stand for any one just to look at it. The doctor decides to take an xray . He tells me there is no bone involvement. Sends me home and tells me to keep taking all of my meds. I am in agony all weekend. By Monday, which is my little cubbies graduation, which I am not going to miss, I