Saturn/astronomy Cake Ideas

Decorating By augurey Updated 2 Jun 2011 , 11:17pm by augurey

augurey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
augurey Posted 1 Jun 2011 , 10:33pm
post #1 of 4

In a couple of weeks my boyfriend is having a small party with some of his old college friends. They used to work in the planetarium at the university.

My boyfriend's and a friend's birthday is at the end of the month, and him and I discussed a cake for the two of them. After asking my boyfriend for some ideas of what they'd like, he suggested: Saturn.

I'm a total newbie, and so I don't have the skills to do anything elaborate.

I do have a cake ball pan -- but the last 3D ball I tried to make... well it didn't work so well because, well, quite frankly, I had even less of a clue than I do now lol (in my favor, it was a year ago)

But I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions of what I could do at a beginner's level? I really don't have experience with fondant, and I'm sure that would probably be a big help if I did.

It doesn't necessarily have to be Saturn, but if I could do that, great, or even just anything to do with astronomy/the planetarium.

I just feel like everything in this area is still a bit beyond me, but if I could do something that's easier, I'm all for ideas!

3 replies
hollyml Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hollyml Posted 2 Jun 2011 , 8:24am
post #2 of 4

I would do a 2D Saturn -- much easier, but still there is lots you can do with 2D shapes. icon_smile.gif Bake a round cake, meaning a flat one like you'd do for a layer cake, and then make the rings out of candy, something that is easy to work with and will stay rigid so you can have it sticking up from the cake. Use fondant/gumpaste, candy melts, melted hard candies (easier than doing hard candy from scratch) or whatever you want to try. icon_smile.gif