New To Cake Central And Baking.

Decorating By KeLs3784 Updated 1 Jun 2011 , 2:27pm by TinkerCakes

KeLs3784 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KeLs3784 Posted 1 Jun 2011 , 2:01pm
post #1 of 2

So I am pretty new to the cake decorating world- It is my new hobby that I am in love with. I'd like to post the 3 cakes I have made thus far. Each time is a learning experience and I am always itching for new cakes to make- kind of wish I knew more people looking for home bakers to make cakes for their parties!

1) Thomas the train- first cake ever made using mm fondant. Used two 9x13 sheet cakes cut in 3's to stack in the shape of thomas. Smokestack is a painted marshmallow. Face is made of mm fondant on a candy stick. It took a couple of nights to complete with the help of a friend (it was for her son's 5th bday). We concentrated so much on thomas, that the sheet cakes it sat on got neglected big time lol.

2.) baby shower cupcake- found this picture online and wanted to try it out. Made black forest cupcakes and used wilton premade colored fondant for the ease. Square cutouts of the fondants laid on a white piece for the blanket. Satin ice fondant tinted with copper was also used for the head and edible marker for the eyes and mouth.

3.) Golf cake for a family bday. Used satin ice fondant, it is half vanilla cake with buttercream frosting, and half chocolate with cream cheese frosting. It was kind of a rush job, took me about 5 hours on Sat night. Colored the green tee hole fondant with americoler liquid color and some of the powder as well to acheieve the dark green. I also used the same colors to tint the buttercream around the bunkers (crushed nilla wafers) and bottom layer of the cake. Had a little bit of issues with the fondant cracking a little in the corners, you can see one of the patch jobs in the pic lol- can't wait to get "The mat" in from sweet wise, should make it a whole lot easier. The golfman, balls, and flag are plastic.