Need To Make Smooth Chocolate Icing For Our Wedding Cake..

Baking By scooteruk Updated 2 Jun 2011 , 5:14pm by scooteruk

scooteruk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scooteruk Posted 1 Jun 2011 , 12:35pm
post #1 of 14

Hi

I will be getting married in a week and a half and being a passionate cook I want to make the wedding cake.

I have been practicing making the roses from fondant and have finally perfected that and have a great recipe for the cake but have no idea how to make a smooth chocolate finish on the cake.

A few things to note are I have to make it on the Thursday (Friday is my stag!) and the Sunday will be the day of the food, drinks and celebrations as we get married on the Monday and go straight on honeymoon. (Strange I know!)

Anyway, I just want to make sure that it can be kept in the fridge for 2 & a half days without spoiling and mostly that I can make a smooth chocolate finish. It can be icing or anything that is not too soft such as buttercream. (unless more solid?)

Can anyone suggest a recipe for this? I have seen many techniques on cake sites such as smoothing with a palette knife, patting with paper towels or rolling it out so happy to incorporate one of these if I can find a recipe.

Appreciate any help!

Scott

13 replies
cakegroove Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakegroove Posted 1 Jun 2011 , 1:02pm
post #2 of 14

use chocolate ganache

scooteruk Posted 1 Jun 2011 , 1:22pm
post #3 of 14

Hi

Ganache is an option but its quite difficult to get that smooth even satin finish across the whole cake isn't it?

jennajane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jennajane Posted 1 Jun 2011 , 1:31pm
post #4 of 14