Large Air Pocket In Buttercream After It's On The Cake

Decorating By pbhobby Updated 31 May 2011 , 7:37pm by sugarshack

pbhobby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pbhobby Posted 29 May 2011 , 1:45am
post #1 of 18

The strangest thing happend to me yesterday. I frosted my cake like I aways do and about 1/2 hr later I notice a large air pocket forming under the buttercream. The buttercream was pulling away from the cake. It looked just like an air pocket in fondant but it was very large and it was in the buttercream (no fondant on this cake). I've been decorating for 7 years and have never seen this. I gently smoothed it back on the cake and it happened again in two other places. Does anyone know what caused this and how I can prevent it from happening again?

17 replies
sugarshack Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarshack Posted 29 May 2011 , 5:38am
post #2 of 18

That is a blow out, most usually a moisture problem, IMO. was your cake very cold or wet with condensation when you iced it?

mena2002 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mena2002 Posted 29 May 2011 , 5:51pm
post #3 of 18

That is strange, I've never seen that happen on a buttercream cake before. But if you figured out what happened please let us know.

Thanks

sweettreat101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettreat101 Posted 29 May 2011 , 6:29pm
post #4 of 18

I had this happen one time. I didn't let my frozen cake thaw enough before frosting and the frosting bubbled and started sliding down the side of the cake. This is why I will never frost a frozen cake again.

pbhobby Posted 29 May 2011 , 10:59pm
post #5 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by sugarshack

That is a blow out, most usually a moisture problem, IMO. was your cake very cold or wet with condensation when you iced it?

It was fresh baked the night before and had not been in the refridgerator or freezer.

DimplesDelights Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DimplesDelights Posted 29 May 2011 , 11:03pm
post #6 of 18