Entering First Cake Competition!

Decorating By katies_cakes Updated 1 Aug 2011 , 5:30am by Lindsram

katies_cakes Posted 28 May 2011 , 4:06pm
post #1 of 8

hi everyone! im super excited to be entering into my first ever cake competition in november this year at ICHF cake show international.
im only entering into the novice class as its my first time.
the class is "winter wonderland" i have a few ideas, and one that i have fallen in love with. i dont want to post my ideas online though through fear of them being stolen before i enter the show. lol

i was wondering if anyone that has entered cake competions/shows before could give me any advice/tips to help me, i dont want to mess this up and im ever so nervous!!

TIA
katie

7 replies
peetz Posted 28 May 2011 , 5:05pm
post #2 of 8

Have never entered a cake in a contest, but have entered other things. ( art mainly) and I agree with your " don't tell your ideas" part, very smart.
I hope to enter my first cake in the county fair this year, but that is small beans compared to a real cake competition. Just go to compete, go to grow as a caker, go first for the experience of going. The rest is just icing on the cake. lol (sorry could not help myself.)
Good luck, break a leg, or what ever they say in the cake world.

dorothymarie Posted 28 May 2011 , 7:55pm
post #3 of 8

I've never been in a cake contest but I have been in the Pillsbury Bakeoff. My advice is take lots of pictures. And be prepared for the cameras and interviews. I didn't know what to say when they asked questions. I was like "duh". Somewhat overwhelmed by it all. Some people were really good in front of the camera. I tried to hide. Wear lots of makeup! LOL

amygortoncakes Posted 28 May 2011 , 8:16pm
post #4 of 8