Cake Shaped Like A Beer Can

Decorating By eatmyart Updated 1 Jun 2011 , 7:49pm by TexasSugar

eatmyart Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eatmyart Posted 28 May 2011 , 2:59am
post #1 of 8

I'm new to cake decorating and I have a request for a cake shaped like a beer can. I'm not sure how to cut the cake into the shape of a can. Can someone please help.

7 replies
gramof5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gramof5 Posted 28 May 2011 , 3:09am
post #2 of 8

Bake several of the same size round cake and stack them. No need for any carving, but if you use more than 3 layers, you need to put a cake board between the top 2 layers and the bottom 2, and put dowel rods in the bottom 2. Once you ice the cake, nobody can tell how many layers there are. You can also, once the cake is assembled, cut a small piece off from top to bottom and lay the beer can cake on its side if you like. PM me if I've not explain3ed this well.

Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 28 May 2011 , 4:36pm
post #3 of 8

gramof5 said it perfectly..use rounds cakes and go from there.

eatmyart Posted 28 May 2011 , 11:30pm
post #4 of 8

Thank you very much! Was thinking of doing the rectangle shaped pans and then carving them but this will work great. Thanks again!

eatmyart Posted 28 May 2011 , 11:41pm
post #5 of 8

I have another question. How much should I charge for a cake like this? It takes almost $30 for the supplies.

johnson6ofus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
johnson6ofus Posted 29 May 2011 , 2:45pm
post #6 of 8

I did this cake, thanks to yoyo3(?) here on CC. I worked 4 days on it!