What's Your Other Job? (If You Have One)

Lounge By KJF1985 Updated 6 Jun 2011 , 4:00am by ladyellam

KJF1985 Posted 27 May 2011 , 7:25pm
post #1 of 31

I realize that some members are bakers/cake decorators by profession but I thought it'd be fun to see what sorts of jobs all the other people have! I'm sure it's as varied and interesting as our cakes are.

I'll start.

I'm 25 (thought I'd throw the age in there too) and am a "research associate" for a Medical School. I do cancer research that's funded by the department of defense (sounds so much more exciting than it is).

How about you all??

30 replies
TexasSugar Posted 27 May 2011 , 7:33pm
post #2 of 31

I work for Roofing Company, family owned. Mostly considered Office Manager, but I do several 'jobs'.

rainyone Posted 27 May 2011 , 8:00pm
post #3 of 31

I'm a registered nurse icon_smile.gif

amygortoncakes Posted 27 May 2011 , 11:46pm
post #4 of 31

I am a stay at home Mom to two boys. Jack 4, and Charlie 3. Its great because I am part of a huge play group who gladly let me practice my craft on their kids birthday cakes. Oh and I am 28.

Elcee Posted 27 May 2011 , 11:52pm
post #5 of 31

I'm a high school secretary/registrar at an "alternative" school and it's more exciting than it sounds icon_wink.gif. Cakes are my hobby.

CWR41 Posted 28 May 2011 , 12:48am
post #6 of 31

For more fun...
"What is everyones "real" job?":
(32 pages.)

"Who Else Has A Second Job?":
(4 pages.)

"Have you left a high paying job to persue a career in cakes?":
(1 page.)

Echooo3 Posted 28 May 2011 , 10:45pm
post #7 of 31

Disney Vacation Club for 20 years.

Tita9499 Posted 29 May 2011 , 12:02am
post #8 of 31

Army wife, full-time caregiver to my mother who's got advanced Multiple Sclerosis and homeschooling mom to 5 year old twins...and I moonlight as a superhero to pay the bills. LOL!

Mommyofseven Posted 29 May 2011 , 12:53am
post #9 of 31

Wife of 20 years and mother(and homeschool teacher) to seven children

jason_kraft Posted 29 May 2011 , 12:53am
post #10 of 31

In addition to running a custom-order bakery business with my wife (she's the pastry chef, I handle the business side including accounting and web development), my full-time job is in Information Technology, as a team lead supporting an enterprise resource planning analytical reporting/data warehouse system (SAP Business Intelligence) for a pharmaceutical company. I'm also an author and have written a book and several articles about how to use/support/develop for the aforementioned system.

Lovin_Cakes30 Posted 29 May 2011 , 1:03am
post #11 of 31

Very cool everyone! I am 29 (almost 30) and I am a Dance instructor and choreographer! I have been teaching for 11 years and Dancing for 24! I teach all levels and ages in tap, jazz, hip hop, lyrical, contemporary, and a tiny bit of ballet! Recreational and competitive! Dance is a Passion and I hope to do it as long as I can still walk!

wiggler Posted 29 May 2011 , 1:54am
post #12 of 31

I am a manager in a furniture shop icon_smile.gif

mimido Posted 29 May 2011 , 2:59am
post #13 of 31

Retired ( I love to say it ) State Trooper Dispatcher.

myheartsdesire Posted 29 May 2011 , 3:23am
post #14 of 31

I am 27. Mom of two, wife of oneicon_smile.gif Culinary student.

shadow3829 Posted 29 May 2011 , 10:07am
post #15 of 31

Office Manager for a rigging & transportation company. The only female of about 20. I love it!!!

kc03 Posted 30 May 2011 , 1:12am
post #16 of 31

Hairdresser for more than 20 years icon_biggrin.gif

cabecakes Posted 30 May 2011 , 5:50am
post #17 of 31

I'm a Betsy Ross of sorts. I make our American flag. If I am sewing the smaller parade/cemetary marker flags, I can sew about 2,000 flags a day. If I am sewing a 3x5 foot flag, I sew about 600 flags a day. I am a busy bee trying to keep our country in flags, and I am proud to do it. I used to be a paralegal for a large company, but the commute was terrible for me with 5 kids to take care of. I finally gave it up for something closer to home. I don't regret it a bit. I had so much more time with my kids and husband, and I also have more time for me.

JulieMN Posted 31 May 2011 , 4:01am
post #18 of 31

I'm a social worker.....

cakification Posted 31 May 2011 , 4:03am
post #19 of 31

I am a 27 year old mother of one. I live in Canada but work for the biggest American credit card company. I manage and maintain our internal information system, like our own internal Internet.

jaswili Posted 31 May 2011 , 10:12pm
post #20 of 31

I am 39 yrs old and have been baking for years and just launched my own company part time and at the moment work full time as a prison officer and I am a girly too! x

Adevag Posted 31 May 2011 , 11:06pm
post #21 of 31

I am 29, about to turn 30. I am a SAHM of three children, 3, 4 and 6 y/o. It was when I became a SAHM I discovered cake decorating. I just finished homeschooling my 6 y/o for his Kindergarten year (have yet to decide if I will continue to homeschool...)

KJF1985 Posted 1 Jun 2011 , 8:46pm
post #22 of 31

How awesome!!! I had completely forgot I posted this because I wasn't receiving email notifications!! icon_eek.gif

Kellbella Posted 2 Jun 2011 , 11:01pm
post #23 of 31

I'm an ultrasound tech.

wannabecute Posted 2 Jun 2011 , 11:32pm
post #24 of 31

I am a stay at home mom of 4 boys - ages 13,12,10 and 9!

Crazyforcupcakes Posted 3 Jun 2011 , 3:29am
post #25 of 31

I'm a receptionist in an internal medicine office, and a (very) amateur baker!

rachel_n_jazmin Posted 4 Jun 2011 , 2:43am
post #26 of 31

I just turned 30 and I'm an Air Force wife and SAHM with a 4yo dauther. This fall I'll start school for Pastry Chef.

Smashme Posted 4 Jun 2011 , 6:49pm
post #27 of 31

I'm a 27year old SAHM of a 5 year old boy and 3 year old girl. should have more time to work on cakes now that my son will be starting school in just 3 months icon_cry.gificon_biggrin.gif so my daughter and i will get to do lots of baking together icon_lol.gif my son thinks its cool that one day a week were going to bake him something special when we pick him up from school.

cakegirl1973 Posted 4 Jun 2011 , 10:18pm
post #28 of 31

I am an attorney in private practice with a cake business on the side. I am moving out of state at the end of the month to be closer to family. I don't have a job in the new state as of yet. I will be doing cakes in my new state, and I wish that I could afford to cake full time. Maybe someday... Oh, I am 37 years old, soon to be 38.

amanduhleigh Posted 5 Jun 2011 , 3:12pm
post #29 of 31

I'm a 20 (almost 21) year old and I work in a Walmart bakery. (which I really dislike) Hopefully once the DH and I get everything straightened out financially, I'll be able to have my own little shop as there's a demand for it around here and there aren't that many shops around.

ladyellam Posted 6 Jun 2011 , 3:59am
post #30 of 31

I've been making wine for over 20 years. Not a glamorous job, but I love it.

Quote by @%username% on %date%