Getting Started In Florida...

Business By cole10 Updated 3 Jun 2011 , 1:11am by SugarBakerz

cole10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cole10 Posted 27 May 2011 , 10:55am
post #1 of 9

Ok. I have been doing cakes for a little over a year. I would like to do them more often for people other than family and friends. I would like to maybe go into the cake business one day, but I am currently a teacher in Florida. Whether I do or not, I feel like I need to cover my rear for any mishaps. Can someone please tell me what I need to do to? I know the Cottage Food bill is currently in progress, other than that I know NOTHING about what to do to be "legal" and "safe". Thanks for any help and information.

8 replies
lacie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lacie Posted 27 May 2011 , 11:37am
post #2 of 9

hello fellow Floridian
in Florida you have to use a licensed kitchen separate from your living space
i rent kitchen time from a local catering company.
it took me 1 1/2 years to find a place that would let me rent their place. i rent out space from a caterer, i pay $50 per personal use. they also use me for all their deserts and i charge them a discounted rate.
you have to get your own licensing and permits for your own business, if you were an employee you would be covered under theirs.
i do not have a written agreement per say, i have emails back and forth with them. they are a nice couple and everything is working out well for me and them. I would suggest a written contract though. I have free use of their kitchen, equipment and tasting/meeting room (they do not charge me to meet with clients only for kitchen use)

here is what you will need to be a legal baking business in Florida:
1. food managers class and cert $150
2. find a kitchen, i use catering companies kitchen $50 per use
3. get a tax id number and file your business corp papers, we used a cpa to do this $250