How To Stack Tiered Cakes

Decorating By ImMissWorld Updated 25 May 2011 , 9:54pm by napa

ImMissWorld Posted 25 May 2011 , 12:36pm
post #1 of 5

So I have been asked to make a wedding cake (not until next year but i want to make sure I know what im doing)

I have watched youtube videos etc. and seen they use wooden dowls, or straws or somethign, anyone know where to get these or what is the best to use?

also i understand you need to have some sort of board under each tier? what do you use? and again, does anyone know where to get these? i was thinking of using just a single cake board the same size as the cake, but wasn't sure if that was right?

im from the UK also, so any help would be much appreciated icon_smile.gif

4 replies
DessertDiva82 Posted 25 May 2011 , 7:45pm
post #2 of 5

Hello icon_biggrin.gif

I am new at this myself (I am currently planning to attempt my first tiered cake) but you can get dowels and cake boards at craft stores like Hobby Lobby and Michael's. They are not too expensive. You can also get bakery boxes, icing tips and bags, sprinkles and decor, and most of what you would need. Both stores stock a good variety.

What I have been told is that each tier needs support. So for example, for my two tier, I am going to dowel through the bottom tier, and place a cake board down, and then place the second tier on that. I have been told I probably don't need doweling through the second tier because I will be assembling the cake onsite and will not be traveling with it stacked. This site has good articles about stacking, smoothing buttercream, and other cake techniques.

Like I said, I am by no means an expert, but I hope that sharing the advice I have received has helped you.

sugarshack Posted 25 May 2011 , 8:13pm
post #3 of 5