What Would You Do?

Decorating By mscooper67 Updated 25 May 2011 , 1:53am by mscooper67

mscooper67 Posted 25 May 2011 , 12:03am
post #1 of 9

I have a problem.... I am just a home baker that makes wedding and celebration cakes for family and friends. Now a friend of the family wants to know if I can give him a quote for a family reunion cake to feed 350 people! I have never made anything of this size. I don't know what to tell him. How big would a cake have to be for this? I'm looking forward to any feedback.

Sharon

8 replies
Brevity Posted 25 May 2011 , 12:33am
post #2 of 9

A cake to serve 350 can intimidate (sp?) an experianced decorator. Just personal...if I were you, based on the info you've given, I wouldn't take it on. That said - if the reunion is a long way off - eh, maybe.

mommachris Posted 25 May 2011 , 12:47am
post #3 of 9

Actually my first wedding cake was for about 300 people and it took me DAYS to complete. It's in my gallery.

I baked straight...seriously one pan came out and another went in the oven...for a day and a half. Took a whole day to level, fill and ice them and a day to decorate and dowel them. All of that part had to happen at the church since my kitchen was too small.

The hundreds of royal icing flowers took two weeks to make since I couldn't really do any of it during the day ( I have a lot of small children in my house and they love icing).

I could do it much faster now, but it still takes a huge about of work to do a cake that large.

Think it out before accepting the job.
If you have enough freezer space, counter space, car space to deliver it etc..
And if you do accept it, girl you better charge him double what you think!

mommachris

Texas_Rose Posted 25 May 2011 , 12:51am
post #5 of 9

Personally I'd say no, but that's because I don't have the kitchen space to make that much cake at one time. I would also have trouble transporting it.