Beyond Frustrated And Looking For Direction.

Business By RnZmom Updated 25 May 2011 , 7:00am by scp1127

RnZmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RnZmom Posted 24 May 2011 , 4:44pm
post #1 of 8

I am new to the forum but confess I have been lurking for months. This is my first post and I decided to come to the experts with my situation in hopes you can guide me. I am a hobbyist turned wanna-be profesional. I have been baking and decorating for years and have been wanting to turn my hobby into my profession for some time now. I have been to my local Health Department, read all of the material, been to countless websites, investigated many options and still feel like I am nowhere.

I have been putting off taking cake orders with the explanation that I want to be "legal" before moving forward. I recently got a request to do 15 dozen cupcakes to be delivered to doctor's office in my area and I see the potential "advertising" as an excellent opportunity, yet I am still not "legal." But the reason I am not legal is I cannot get my head wrapped around what is expected of me to be licensed. There is information out there that Mississippi does have a Cottage law but I cannot find any record of this. My Health Department has been less than helpful to say the least. I am very close to just taking my chances . . . any guidance would be MOST appreicated. Thanks!

7 replies
MelissaJeane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MelissaJeane Posted 24 May 2011 , 5:01pm
post #2 of 8

I didn't get far with my health department but the State government website sent me a start up package with the info I needed based on a few questions I answered. I would start with the Secretary of State and your State website (try yourstate.gov)and look for a business link. Hope this helps and good luck! Try your local Score office they can be a great help as well.

RnZmom Posted 24 May 2011 , 5:14pm
post #3 of 8