Multiple Questions For A Big Upcoming Wedding Cake

Decorating By jakenheather Updated 24 May 2011 , 5:06pm by jakenheather

jakenheather Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jakenheather Posted 24 May 2011 , 2:03am
post #1 of 12

I haven't done a cake in over a year since I had my baby girl and am a little out of it and am nervous with my brother's wedding coming up next month. so I have a few questions and would greatly appreciate any help. I plan on doing it all in BC.

1- big concern is I have a lot of dragees to apply, what is the best way? just a dab of icing on the back, does it have to be RI?

2- they want ivory, I have read just to use a recipe with butter and regular vanilla, is this all I have to do?

3- any suggestions for the quilting? I have never done that before. and it looks like it wouldn't be that hard, but I am sure it could get messed up easy.

4- I am doing 6-8-10-12-14 and I got big straw like dowel supports and plastic separator plates since it will be huge and heavy, any tips for all of that?

5- most importantly, any tips to save my wrist!!!! I may only be 27 but dang my wrist hurts after a normal cake!!! I have allowed 2 full days of icing and decorating and I hope that is enough

6- oh and what is the best way to support the cake topper?

thankfully I am able to bake and decorate it all at the fire hall so I dont have to travel with it!

Thank you for all of your thoughts and ideas and answers!!!!

They found this pic on here by cakebaker55 for my guide but only to make it a 5 tier.

11 replies
Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 24 May 2011 , 2:11am
post #2 of 12

Okay..I will try and offer my suggestions....

1. I wouldn't use straws to dowel for a cake that large despite what some have said here...I just wouldn't trust it to hold up a cake that large.I would use SPS.

2. Dragees are easily put on with a small pair of tweezers and a dab of RI or buttercream depending on the base being fondant or BC.