Mff Questions

Decorating By AnnieCahill Updated 23 May 2011 , 3:51pm by AnnieCahill

AnnieCahill Posted 22 May 2011 , 7:52pm
post #1 of 12

Hey ya'll, just a couple of questions. Even though I've been decorating for almost 15 years now, I never really ventured into fondant territory. I have done a few accents with Wilton fondant, which was easy to work with, but I've never been asked to do a full fondant cake. I'm thinking about making some of Michele's fondant, but I had a couple of questions.

1. Do you think this fondant is ok for a newb to make and work with? I'm worried about not getting the right texture and screwing it up.

2. I'm worried about coloring it. I have a very colorful cake coming up and from what I've read, it's best to color it in the beginning during the cooking process. If I make two batches, is it easy to color once it's made? I don't think I'll be able to color it during the cooking because of all the colors I have to work with.

3. How is it for modeling figures?

Thanks in advance for your help!

AW

11 replies
didavista Posted 22 May 2011 , 8:22pm
post #2 of 12

I Love this fondant I find it very easy to work with and consistent every time. It's definitely easier to color in the liquid stage. You can color after just alot of kneading, which personally I try to avoid

didavista Posted 22 May 2011 , 8:22pm
post #3 of 12

I Love this fondant I find it very easy to work with and consistent every time. It's definitely easier to color in the liquid stage. You can color after just alot of kneading, which personally I try to avoid

AnnieCahill Posted 22 May 2011 , 9:18pm
post #4 of 12

Does it take color well? I guess the kneading is a pain but necessary when you need to make several colors out of one batch.

Do you have any suggestions about the pliability? I have read that if you put all the powdered sugar in it can get dry. I'm only used to using the Wilton fondant so that's my only frame of reference here.