Is A 6-Tier Too Heavy?

Decorating By Jess155 Updated 22 May 2011 , 10:17pm by sillywabbitz

Jess155 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jess155 Posted 22 May 2011 , 6:54pm
post #1 of 8

I'm doing a special 6-tier in a few weeks. I've already ordered the SPS so it will be stable. I want to transport it stacked because I won't have time to stack it at the venue, and the design needs to be done stacked.

The highest I've done is 5 tiers and I assembled on site. Is a 6 tier going to be too heavy for my DH and I to carry in? It's a round 6, 8, 10, 12, 14 and a square 16". The board will be 2" wood. It is my first time using SPS, so I'm hoping it will be secure.

Am I asking for trouble? I can lift my 50 pound 6 year old easily enough, and my DH is strong. Has anyone done this that could give me some feedback?

7 replies
Brevity Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Brevity Posted 22 May 2011 , 7:09pm
post #2 of 8

With the aide of a couple of guys, we were able to transport a 7 tier. And it involved driving over train tracks! I will tell you, it was a task! Recruit some help, and it is do-able. Scary? Yes, but do-able.

Jess155 Posted 22 May 2011 , 7:19pm
post #3 of 8

Awesome! I'm sure I can find someone to help if absolutely necessary, I just hate to have to count on someone else to help. I am so freaked out about it tipping or sliding. I've never had it happen, but this is my largest cake so far. We have to go over train tracks too. Thanks!

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 22 May 2011 , 8:29pm
post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jess155

Is a 6 tier going to be too heavy for my DH and I to carry in?

Probably not. If it's all BC, and isn't an extra heavy cake like carrot cake, it shouldn't weigh anymore than 58 lbs. total. (That's 38# or less for icing and decorations, and almost 20# for cake.) If you're using fondant, just figure that in as well.