Need Some Advice!!!!asap!!

Decorating By shar7599 Updated 19 May 2011 , 9:28pm by jason_kraft

shar7599 Posted 19 May 2011 , 5:28pm
post #1 of 10

okay, so I'm new to the cake baking world, but have found I have a talent for it. Unfortunately so has my family LOL I made my little girl's birthday cake and now my cousin in law wants me to make her daughter's graduation cake. I had told her $70 for a fondant covered 1/2 sheet with a grad cap on top. Along with ribbon and whatever else to make it cute.

Turns out she is expecting about 100 people, which means she needs a bigger cake. I am thinking putting 2 11x15 cakes together. But what do I charge? I called Kroger and I can buy edible photos from them for $6.99. I am thinking the 3D cap with either 1 or 2 pics. I make the fondant and everything myself. It took me 13 hours start to finish for my daughter's 3 tier (with a minnie hat) cake. I don't think this one will take that long, but things come up ya know. I feel soooooooo guilty charging family at all, but being a full time student, with no job (well, not a paying one, I'm doing a 40hr a week internship) I can't afford not to. What would you do? Would you just charge for materials and make it for free? Or would you charge? I just don't know what to do. I could use some extra money, and I don't want everyone to start hitting me up for free cakes! Help!

9 replies
2yummy Posted 19 May 2011 , 5:55pm
post #2 of 10

I think it is ok to charge a nominal fee for your family, not to much. You'll be suprised to at how much the cost is when it's all said and done. When I first started I didn't want to charge to much because I was new to cake decorating. And tell her if anyone asks how much she paid for the cake she needs to say $100 or something like that, icon_smile.gif Hope that helps.

cricket0616 Posted 19 May 2011 , 6:01pm
post #3 of 10