I Said "no" And It Feels Great

Decorating By KitchenKat Updated 27 May 2011 , 6:15pm by Phlee330

KitchenKat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KitchenKat Posted 18 May 2011 , 3:37pm
post #1 of 26

Just want to share a quick story...

I'm a former business owner but now I'm a hobby baker. I occasionally accept requests for cakes but only from a select circle of friends and acquaintances. I don't make a profit. I just do it for the love of cake and only if I have the time and the desire.

A friend begs and begs to order a "simple" cheesecake for the 28th of May. I'm busy but I give in. She initially wanted chocolate transfers ala Whimsical Bakehouse on the cake but that was impossible given my schedule. I suggested an edible image, provided she gave me a pdf file of the image exactly as she wants it to appear on the cake, and she agreed. I gave her my timeline which includes 1) I'm going to be traveling from the 20th-25th and 2) I need her graphic by May 15 so that I can put in the order before I leave.

Despite several reminders, I still haven't received her graphic and today I was stressing out over how I'm supposed to get the edible image order done in time. It dawned on me that I shouldn't be stressing over this. It's a favor and she knows it's a favor. She is taking my time and my efforts for granted. If she hasn't made it a priority why should it be my priority? I have a life and I wanna enjoy it, not be a slave to her schedule. (Is my resentment showing? LOL!)

Long story short, I sent her an email saying sorry, there is now not enough time for me to order the image in time for her cake. I feel liberated!

Saying no to friends and family is so much harder than turning down business orders. I'm glad that this time I learned how to say it.

I still haven't grown a full spine yet as I still gave her the option of having the cake, just not the image. (Bangs head on floor!)

25 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile