How Do You Get Your Cakes So Perfectly Neat?

Decorating By jennifercullen Updated 18 May 2011 , 1:31pm by genevieveyum

jennifercullen Posted 17 May 2011 , 7:22am
post #1 of 13

I seem to be constantly asking questions on here lately, but I really would like to know how people get their cakes looking so clean and perfect. Is it just a case of practice or is it a skill you either have or not? I have only been decorating cakes since the end of march so I'm not that experienced, but when I cut things out (i just use a knife to cut out shapes) they rarely have a perfect straight edge I have to press it with a knife blade to get rid of the excess bits. People keep commenting on how good my cakes are, but on here when I look in comparison they look very amateur. Shall I keep practising and hope the cleanliness improves or am I doing something wrong?

12 replies
sillywabbitz Posted 17 May 2011 , 1:33pm
post #2 of 13

Hi Jennifer,
There are different definitions of neat and different things on a cake that are considered neat and by no means am I one of the super neat cake decorators on this site but hopefully I can give you some help. First I looked at your pics and I would not consider your cakes sloppy. One thing you might want to do is put borders around your cakes. That will make them look more finished. Your borders can be buttercream or fondant or even candy.

If you are cutting out shapes with a knife make sure the knife is very sharp and you may want to try an exacto knife instead of a dinner knife. I think most of us use cutters. I have square, round and diamond cutters I use for shapes on the sides of cakes. I also use a pizza cutter for trimming the edges around cake when I apply fondant