How Do I...... Make A Box Lid

Decorating By kimma1299 Updated 25 May 2011 , 8:08am by angelogoo

kimma1299 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kimma1299 Posted 15 May 2011 , 10:49pm
post #1 of 8

Okay, I volunteered to make a wedding shower cake for my friend's future daughter in laws shower. I would love to make it look like a gift box cake with the lid propped against the side of the cake. I don't want to make it out of cake but rather gumpaste. Any suggestions? I have never done that type of thing before so any help would be appreciated. Also, for the actual box, I want it to have a lip. DO you think I should precut the sides in panels and then apply to the cake or should I just wrap in fondant and add my tissue paper and roses to the top of that? Help, please.

7 replies
kimma1299 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kimma1299 Posted 16 May 2011 , 2:00am
post #2 of 8

Any one, please?

KathysCC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KathysCC Posted 16 May 2011 , 2:27pm
post #3 of 8

I made my shoe box lid by putting gumpaste on a piece of cake cardboard. To make the lips on the box, I put the box lid on two glasses for support and so nothing would touch the lips as they dried.

http://cakecentral.com/gallery/1719442

You just leave the cardboard under the gumpaste, don't try to remove it.

LindaF144a Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindaF144a Posted 16 May 2011 , 4:55pm
post #4 of 8

Sugared Productions makes a video on this very topic. I highly recommend it.

ajwonka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ajwonka Posted 24 May 2011 , 11:43pm
post #5 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by LindaF144a

Sugared Productions makes a video on this very topic. I highly recommend it.

It's called Boxes & Bows & it's awesome! Love that Sharon!

HeyWife Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HeyWife Posted 25 May 2011 , 4:30am
post #6 of 8