What Is The Best Way To Make "sand" For A Beach Th

Decorating By GenLK Updated 28 Aug 2016 , 5:18am by Dar917

GenLK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GenLK Posted 15 May 2011 , 1:40pm
post #1 of 31

I am new to cake decorating. I was asked to make a wedding cake with an elegant beach theme - I have an idea but before I commit to the cake, I'd like to cover all my bases. To make "sand" do you just use graham cracker crumbs? If I wanted to have some stuck to the sides of the cake, what should I use? I usually use Vodka to attach my fondant embellishments - would this work?
Thanks for any ideas! icon_smile.gif

30 replies
Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 15 May 2011 , 1:52pm
post #2 of 31

2 ways..You can crush up graham wafer cookies/crumbs or use brown sugar.Both very realistic...

Occther Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Occther Posted 15 May 2011 , 1:59pm
post #3 of 31

I use a combo of graham crackers, vanilla wafers, white & brown sugar (from an article in ACD) Makes realistic looking and good tasting sand.

HappyCake10609 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HappyCake10609 Posted 15 May 2011 , 2:06pm
post #4 of 31

I just used light brown sugar and it looked great! I think vodka would work fine to attach it to the side of the cake....

CutieMcCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CutieMcCakes Posted 15 May 2011 , 2:12pm
post #5 of 31

I agree with all of these suggestions.. i've done many of them before..
Another idea is to take the cake tops after you've leveled a layer, and let them dry out, then put them in a food processor to grind them to a fine consistency!

terrylee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
terrylee Posted 15 May 2011 , 2:19pm
post #6 of 31

Raw sugar work great...

Debi2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Debi2 Posted 26 May 2011 , 4:49pm
post #7 of 31