Need Help Re Cupcake Cases

Baking By sharon24 Updated 17 May 2011 , 3:17pm by shady_twist

sharon24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sharon24 Posted 15 May 2011 , 9:28am
post #1 of 6

Hi
I am new to all this but am enjoying baking and decorating cupcakes and celebration cakes. I am in the UK.

I have been tinkering around with recipes for cupcakes and have found a really good tasting moist sponge that keeps well for a good few days, however the cakes keep coming away from the paper case. they are good quality cases from a wholesaler.

What am I doing wrong, how can I tweak the recipe to stop this happening?

This is the recipe I used

250 butter
250 caster sugar
weight of eggs in shells -250g (4 eggs)
350 SR flour
heaped teaspoon baking powder
3 fl oz buttermilk
squeeze lemon juice
vanilla extract

cream fat/sugar add eggs add flour method.

TIA for any advice.

Sharon

5 replies
Dayti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dayti Posted 15 May 2011 , 10:43am
post #2 of 6

I don't think its your recipe. Are your cases greaseproof? If not, try some of the cases from CakeCraftWorld: http://www.cakecraftworld.co.uk/products.asp?cc=85&scc=203
Also try and remove your cupcakes from the tins as soon as they come out of the oven. This avoids moisture building up in the wells of the tins making the cases come off sometimes (well, in my experience anyway!).

allaboutcakeuk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
allaboutcakeuk Posted 16 May 2011 , 9:20am
post #3 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharon24

Hi
I am new to all this but am enjoying baking and decorating cupcakes and celebration cakes. I am in the UK.

I have been tinkering around with recipes for cupcakes and have found a really good tasting moist sponge that keeps well for a good few days, however the cakes keep coming away from the paper case. they are good quality cases from a wholesaler.

What am I doing wrong, how can I tweak the recipe to stop this happening?

This is the recipe I used

250 butter