What Size Cakes To Make

Decorating By shellyb05 Updated 17 May 2011 , 2:48am by Marianna46

shellyb05 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shellyb05 Posted 14 May 2011 , 2:38pm
post #1 of 4

Hi this is my first time making a 4 tier cake. It is for 200-250 people. I am having trouble with what size to make each tier. Every chart is different. I was going to use 14,12,10,8. Should I make a sheet cake too to keep in the kitchen just in case we need more cake? This is the biggest one I have made.I am very worried. I would love some ideas.
Thank you,
Shelly B

3 replies
CutieMcCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CutieMcCakes Posted 14 May 2011 , 4:35pm
post #2 of 4

Hi Shelly and congrats on your first "mega cake"...

I look at the wilton website for cake serving sizes, and if you're following the wilton standard for serving sizes (assuming its a round cake) it breaks down to:
14" - 78 serv
12" - 56 serv
10" - 38 serv
8" - 24 serv

giving you a total of 196 servings... that's a bit less than the 200-250 they're expecting. Are they serving or keeping their top tier? That will change your servings as well..
A kitchen cake is always a good option as back up.. and they're quick and easy (no decorating), so they're a time saver as well.
Another option is if they're keeping their top tier, a 16/14/12 with a 10" keeper, will serve 234.
I hope this helps!
Good luck!
Katie

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 14 May 2011 , 5:58pm
post #3 of 4

There are many, many different ways to come up with that # of servings.
Do you want all rounds; all squars, all hearts, ovals or others shapes?
How about a combination of sq, round or sq on heart?
You can make a base of four 8" rounds, then put a 14, 10, 6 on top of that.
OR make the base of three 9" hearts w/the rounds on top
OR make a base of one 12x18x4 w/a 12", 9" and 6" heart on top - stacked or pillared
OR, OR, OR......many other combinations.