So People Are So "helpful"...

Decorating By Annabakescakes Updated 14 May 2011 , 4:23pm by ladij153

Annabakescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Annabakescakes Posted 13 May 2011 , 6:38am
post #1 of 28

I went to 3 stores today looking for bubble tea straws to use as support in two smaller tiers. In the last one, a "party" store, the young girl walked me around several areas, trying to help and was as sweet as can be, but then passed me of to a cashier. I said I was looking for bubble tea straws and explained what they were, and they never heard of them, so I described what they looked like. I mentioned I was going to use them as support in a wedding cake, and the lady looked at me all horrified and said, "Ooooh, I don't think you should do that! You need to go talk to a cake bakery!"

Gee, thanks, Lady! I AM a cake baker, and I have this handled!

27 replies
mombabytiger Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mombabytiger Posted 13 May 2011 , 12:27pm
post #2 of 28

Yeah. There's nothing more satisfying than superior snarkiness aimed at a minimum wage employee who is trying to help you.

Marianna46 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marianna46 Posted 13 May 2011 , 12:57pm
post #3 of 28

I think the vent was for us. She never said she was rude to the salespeople. It can be very frustrating when you have a deadline and can't find what you need to finish the order.

LindaF144a Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindaF144a Posted 13 May 2011 , 1:05pm
post #4 of 28

I think as someone who has no experience, the thought of bubble tea straws holding up a cake was foreign to her. She was still trying to help you. She had no idea that you may have done this thousands of time before or not. You would be surprised how many first time cake makers I meet in the aisles of Michaels.