How Do I Attach A Fondant "plaque" To The Cake?

Decorating By katie1214 Updated 13 May 2011 , 11:02pm by katie1214

katie1214 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katie1214 Posted 11 May 2011 , 10:25am
post #1 of 8

I'm making a Communion cake for two of my nephews on Friday. I made a fondant "plaque", about 3"x5", that I want to write on but I'm not sure how to attach it to the cake. I have a 10" layer and then an 8" on top and I'm not sure if it will look okay laying flat on top of the 8" or if I should give it "lift" some how. I hope this question makes sense icon_lol.gif Anyone have an idea how to give it some lift - I don't want the cake to look too flat. I'm open to any suggestions, easier ones would be appreciated since I'm new to this! TIA!!

7 replies
mplaidgirl2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mplaidgirl2 Posted 11 May 2011 , 10:42am
post #2 of 8

You can attach it to the side with just a little water.
Check out my Flower and stems cake... I attached the silohette with just a few dabs of water

mommakristin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommakristin Posted 11 May 2011 , 10:43am
post #3 of 8

I would use Royal icing to attach the plaque to the cake. Royal icing can be colored whatever color you want and dries quick and hard. It's almost like gluing something to the cake. It holds great!!

You should be able to use the RI and attach it to the top tier to give the cake some depth and visual dimension.

HTH

Nusi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nusi Posted 11 May 2011 , 11:15am
post #4 of 8

i actually use a gumpaste plaque last time cause it will be hard and can be places anywhere

kristiemarie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kristiemarie Posted 11 May 2011 , 4:26pm
post #5 of 8