Fondant Bead/ball Borders

Decorating By AMOVERBY Updated 10 May 2011 , 2:54am by SarahBeth3

AMOVERBY Posted 9 May 2011 , 4:15pm
post #1 of 11

Can someone please help me and give me some tips on how to do these bead/ball borders. I've been playing around with them and I can't seem to get them the same size or that perfect round shape. I'll be using fondant, also can these be made in advance or is it better to do them at the time of decorations. I'm a newbie so I appreciate and welcome any and all help and/ or criticism. lol

10 replies
jennifercullen Posted 9 May 2011 , 4:30pm
post #2 of 11

I've only done the ball border once last week, I made a ball and then kept it as a kind of template as I made the others I measured them up to it and if they were a bit too big I pinched a bit off and rolled it again. It still seemed I had some bigger than others, but its not an exact art. I also felt that they weren't quite round, especially when I had pressed them slightly to stick them to the cake. I don't know about making them in advance, that might he good if they have chance to dry out they may keep their shape better or they might crack when you put them on if it is too forceful.

I just did mine and put them on the cake straight away, I wasn't worried if they weren't perfect because they still had a good effect

Jmlpitbull Posted 9 May 2011 , 4:38pm
post #3 of 11

I roll my fondant out and cut out circles with a cutter. Then I roll those into balls, that way they are all the same size! Make them ahead of time, then just put them on when you are ready.

cakeyouverymuch Posted 9 May 2011 , 4:43pm
post #4 of 11

Roll your fondant to an even thickness. Use a round cutter to cut out circles (I use the large end of an icing tip, or the regular end of an 808 tip). If your fondant is rolled evenly they will all be exactly the same amount of fondant. Then roll your circles into balls. Easy peasy! HTH.

cakeyouverymuch Posted 9 May 2011 , 4:46pm
post #5 of 11