Little Person Question ;)

Business By gathenry Updated 8 May 2011 , 11:56pm by costumeczar

gathenry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gathenry Posted 8 May 2011 , 1:03pm
post #1 of 7

I typically make cakes and cupcakes for my family and close friend functions. I get people asking all the time to make cakes, especially my cupcakes, for their functions (weddings, birthday's etc.) and unless they are my close friends or family, I turn them down because I refuse to charge anything since I am not licensed.

I live in Virginia which does allow in home bakeries and the process is time consuming, but not hugely restrictive. I am a full time Firefighter/Paramedic and mom, so I just don't have the time to put into it now. When I inquired about being licensed to the out Department of Agriculture the lady told me she wouldn't worry about it if she were me since it wouldn't be a primary business, which blew me away and left me feeling a little uneasy. I want no part of that. If I were to charge of my cakes, I want to do it the right way, all the way. It's not fair to the other bakeries that put that time into it, and its just plain not right.

My question it this. When I do make cakes and cupcakes as favors or gifts I am often offered money which I always decline. Here lately though, I have received "Thank You" cards in the mail with cash inside for my "time and supplies". It is usually just enough to cover my supplies and sometimes a little extra. I feel wrong about this. I know this is small potatoes for most people on here, but am I worrying for nothing? I love doing this for friends and family, and it IS a hobby. I don't want to do the wrong thing or be caught off guard. What do you all think. TIA!

6 replies
Justforfun751 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Justforfun751 Posted 8 May 2011 , 2:15pm
post #2 of 7