Attempting To Make A Cake For Mother's Day..

Decorating By cathrync Updated 8 May 2011 , 1:05pm by klutzy_baker

cathrync Posted 6 May 2011 , 2:52pm
post #1 of 13

I am going to use fondant. I have no experience using it, my sister does though, she's going to be making it with me. All I have is some raw artistic talent, not a whole lot - but hopefully enough.

Anyways, to the point - We didn't want to have to buy a ton of tools to make just two cakes (one for aunt, one for mom) so I was wondering if anyone had any jury rig ideas, diy tools or things that are somewhat elementary but can be done by hand.

Greatly appreciated! (=

12 replies
Lovin_Cakes30 Posted 6 May 2011 , 4:50pm
post #2 of 13

The only thing I have for fondant cakes (granted I have only done a few!) is non stick rolling pin, pizza cutter and a lot of crisco! I also use some cookie cutters.

kelcyrenee Posted 6 May 2011 , 5:19pm
post #3 of 13

Cookies cutters are great to use with fondant. Flower ones would be pretty easy to do for Mother's day.

cakification Posted 6 May 2011 , 5:40pm
post #4 of 13

It also depends on the design you're going for. There's a lot of things you don't need tools for - Bows, ribbon roses/duff roses plus a BUNCH of other flowers.. Stripes, dots, etc etc..
What type of design are you wanting to try?

brensmom12 Posted 6 May 2011 , 6:15pm
post #5 of 13

I recently made roses free hand with modeling chocolate, so I going to assume using fondant would be the same. there are some great tutorials on this on Youtube. I agree with the other post - cookie cutters are always an option. What type of design are you looking to do?

cheatize Posted 6 May 2011 , 6:31pm
post #6 of 13

A very clean garlic press can be used for hair. Spaghetti can be used to hold pieces together.

cathrync Posted 7 May 2011 , 12:08am
post #7 of 13