Need Help With The Wilton Doll Pan

Decorating By Gerle Updated 6 May 2011 , 7:31pm by Gerle

Gerle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Gerle Posted 5 May 2011 , 11:15pm
post #1 of 7

Hi. I'm a hobby baker and am making my first doll cake. I can't get paid for baking here in CA, but my son's friend bought all the ingredients and the Wilton pan so I could make his daughter a princess doll cake for her birthday. I've never used the Wilton doll pan before, but according to the directions I can use any cake recipe that I'd like. Well, I decided to use the one cake recipe that my entire family and by son's friend likes - the White on White Buttermilk cake from Bake Space. I've used this recipe any time I needed a white cake and it's always served me well. Until now. I don't know if it's the recipe or the pan, but according to the Wilton instructions, it takes 50-60 minutes for the cake to cook -- try more like 75 minutes. At 50 and 60, it is still really jiggly in the middle and a cake pick comes out with wet batter. However, when I cook it until the pick comes out clean, the cake keeps sinking in the middle where the heat core is, and it sinks before I even get it out of the oven. Any suggestions on how to avoid this? I need to have the cakes ready by 10 a.m. on Saturday, May 7th. I've already re-baked the cake once because I thought maybe this recipe couldn't use the reverse creaming method - which is what I used the first time, but it still happened again, so any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm not good at carving cakes, so please don't advise me to try that method. I really want this cake to turn out nice for his daughter.

6 replies
Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 5 May 2011 , 11:37pm
post #2 of 7

Hm..I have used that pan many times and never had I had the cake sink in the middle.The only advice I have is try another recipe..I use cake mixes and have never had a problem...

robin2p Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile