Any Suggestions On How To Make A Map?

Decorating By lsz1978 Updated 6 May 2011 , 1:28am by lsz1978

lsz1978 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lsz1978 Posted 5 May 2011 , 5:42pm
post #1 of 8

i am putting a flat fondant or modeling chocolate map (looking as if it had been folded up) on top of a cake made to look like some classic books. then my plan is to stick flags into the map where the students are going to college... this is for a graduation cake that will sit at the top of a tiered cupcake cake.

my question is how do i create the map look... draw it, print something out (and if so, how does that work... i've never done that beforeicon_smile.gif)? or any other ideas? it will be a map of the USA or just NC... not sure yet!

i'd love some of your ideas!!!!
thanks!

7 replies
aprilismaius Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aprilismaius Posted 5 May 2011 , 5:57pm
post #2 of 8

i just did a treasure map on a pirate cake a few weeks ago. i cut the map shape out of fondant, drew the map lines with edible markers and then airbrushed on the edges to make it look a little bit older. good luck!

buttercuppie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
buttercuppie Posted 5 May 2011 , 6:12pm
post #3 of 8

How about an edible image...you can put it on a piece of fondant with tylose in it and can dry it ahead of time...and then there's less stress about having to draw the map...

HTH

lsz1978 Posted 5 May 2011 , 6:15pm
post #4 of 8

how do i go about making the edible image? i've never done that before!!!

buttercuppie Posted 5 May 2011 , 6:22pm
post #5 of 8

If it's your first time, I'd recommend going to a company like icingimages.com. basically you should figure out how big you want the picture and create a file with it (use a jpeg but you should figure out how big you want it based on standard page sizes ie 8 1/2 x 11 or 8 1/2 x 14). Upload it on their site order form and also give them the specs on how big it is. They'll print it for you and mail it to you.