Fondant

Decorating By sarahb2004 Updated 3 May 2011 , 4:06pm by bakingkat

sarahb2004 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarahb2004 Posted 2 May 2011 , 11:39pm
post #1 of 6

I am sure this question has been asked a trillion times so sorry in advance!

In regards to fondant, what do you use? Do you make your own, and if so is it regular fondant or MMF? If you purchase it, what kind do you prefer?

I have been making MMF just because it is so much cheaper to make it rather than buy it, but I am not liking the way it is coming out on my cakes (bubbles, cracks, etc....) I feel like I have played around and tweaked it enough I should be at a point where I like it, but nothing I do is helping the outcome!!

5 replies
cakesrock Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesrock Posted 3 May 2011 , 4:01am
post #2 of 6

I make my own because I am a hobby baker and it's too expensive to buy. If I need a lot of black or red, I'll treat myself and buy it. I use Rhonda's ultimate MMF because it tastes really good. I think homemade MMF is more of a challenge to get 'just right'. I also have made enough where it should be perfect, but it isn't always.

I did learn that even if you heat your marshmallows just a little too much, you will have air bubble problems. Heat for 40 secs, stir and heat for 30 , stir and then a wee bit after that (10 secs) and stir - only do as much as you need. Let the mixing melt them as much as possible. Then don't add to mixer immediately. Give them a couple of mins to cool a bit. If you add your icing sugar when they are too hot, you will have issues too.

I have also made Michelle Fosters' and it's good too. But I just prefer Rhonda's MMF. I have bought Satin Ice and it's nice to work with and tasty but dries out quickly in my climate (DRY!) Oh and it's expensive, as is all store bought fondant, at least in my neck of the woods.
HTH!

sarahb2004 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarahb2004 Posted 3 May 2011 , 2:50pm
post #3 of 6