Ganche Under Buttercream?

Decorating By KayMc Updated 1 May 2011 , 4:07am by Crazboutcakes

KayMc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KayMc Posted 1 May 2011 , 2:00am
post #1 of 4

I am a hobbyist, and don't make a large amount of cakes. I've made the decision that I don't want to cover my cakeswith fondant, as I hate the taste, as do most other people as well. I know the fondant cakes look like heaven, but I do enjoy a beautiful buttercream cake as much as the appearance of a fondant cake.

I know the Aussies use ganache under their fondant, and I'm wondering if I should do the same under buttercream. Is there a reason why I shouldn't do that? thank you.

3 replies
SugarFiend Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarFiend Posted 1 May 2011 , 3:18am
post #2 of 4

Seriously? icon_confused.gif

Ummm... Overkill. Because it would be like putting a layer of chocolate buttercream under your vanilla buttercream. Or SMBC under your cream cheese icing. I suppose you COULD do it. Just not sure why you'd want to.

I use ganache under my fondant, and I'm not Australian! icon_wink.gif I look at fondant as a beautiful, versatile, protective layer - not as a second layer of icing. I roll my fondant quite thin and use a full layer of icing, so people can eat the fondant if they want or just peel it off and still have plenty of ganache. And... I, myself, am a peeler! icon_surprised.gif

But I also make the occasional buttercream cake, too. And I think we all love beautiful cakes whether they're buttercream or fondant. One is no better or worse than the other - they're just different.

If you do decide to do it, can you post pics of the cut cake and let us know how it is? I would be very curious to know.

Crazboutcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crazboutcakes Posted 1 May 2011 , 4:06am
post #3 of 4