Newbie With Wedding Cake Questions

Decorating By Chemom Updated 2 May 2011 , 3:41pm by rmurphy84

Chemom Posted 29 Apr 2011 , 1:08pm
post #1 of 13

I am a newbie here. I have been making fun cakes for my childrens' birthdays for years, but now I have to get serious and make my daughter's wedding cake in three weeks. I have a few questions to ask all of you experts. I have done a good bit of research and reading, but am getting a bit confused, so please help if you can.

The plan is to have 3 tiers on the bottom: 12 in, 10 in, 8 in, all just stacked, then a set of ivory pillars holding up the top 6 in tier, which will be a gluten free cake. We have gotten the cake topper made, which consists of silk hydrangeas in blue and purple, with ivory silk roses. There are also several silk hydrangeas for me to lay down the sides of the lower 3 tiers. My daughter wants edible pearls around the middle of each tier, and some type of simple border around the base of each.

Questions:

1. I have ordered bubble tea straws to use as supports for the bottom tiers. Do I put each tier on a cardboard round when I stack the tiers? If so, I have read that the Wilton cardboard will disintegrate from the moisture in the cake, so what do I use?

2. Do I use a separator plate on the top of that 8 inch plate to hold the pillars? I know I will use a separator plate to hold up the 6 inch plate. Oh, and how tall should those pillars be?

3. I don't have much experience with buttercream (my favorite thing for covering cakes has been fondant, but I've also played with modeling chocolate), so which recipe do I use for the buttercream (there are so many out there icon_eek.gif and I don't know if I need "crusting" or not?) My daughter wants the buttercream ivory, not white. How do I do that (wondering if pure butter will achieve that effect?)