Soaring Gas Prices.

Business By hislilytoo Updated 4 May 2011 , 3:47pm by hislilytoo

hislilytoo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hislilytoo Posted 28 Apr 2011 , 2:46pm
post #1 of 8

With the price of gas soaring like it is, do you charge more for delivery? How do you figure out what to charge for delivery to begine with? I'm just starting out and need to figure this out so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
God Bless,
Keri

7 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 28 Apr 2011 , 2:57pm
post #2 of 8

I charge $50, but most of my deliveries are 5 miles or less. It's a standard charge with me.

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 28 Apr 2011 , 5:04pm
post #3 of 8

Gas is actually only about 20% of the true cost of driving on a per-mile basis, see the link below for a breakdown. This does not include your hourly wage, which should be included in the delivery charge. When using the price of gas for these calculations I recommend using a $6/gal figure.

http://www.commutesolutions.org/calc.htm

We charge $1/minute (round trip) for deliveries, we are in a major metro area so mileage alone is not an accurate picture of how long we will be on the road.

Katiebelle74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Katiebelle74 Posted 29 Apr 2011 , 4:14am
post #4 of 8

I charge $50.00 within 10 miles excluding downtown (I typically have to pay a second person to come with me for downtown deliveries so that's automatic $75.00) then 75.00 for within 20 miles and $2.50 per mile roundtrip for anything over 20 miles.

homebasedbaking Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
homebasedbaking Posted 2 May 2011 , 4:47am
post #5 of 8

1. Drive less. Make a driving plan.