So Disappointed Gotta Vent

Lounge By mustang1964 Updated 24 Apr 2011 , 11:24pm by sewsugarqueen

mustang1964 Posted 22 Apr 2011 , 5:49am
post #1 of 14

My son was selected as one of three students in the state for a four year scholarship to any school in the state he chooses. They sent him a letter saying congratulations but due to state funding there is a very high probability that none of the scholarship will be awarded. However he will get a certificate from the Governor. Why on earth would they send something like that? It would be like saying you won the lottery but can't have the money. Guess that's what the 4.0 since seventh grade and hours and hours of community service gets you these days.

13 replies
indydebi Posted 22 Apr 2011 , 8:29am
post #2 of 14

that is crazy-insane! icon_eek.gif

poohsmomma Posted 22 Apr 2011 , 12:32pm
post #3 of 14

What a huge disappointment that must be!

As a retired teacher, I HATE seeing all the education funding cuts; just sickens me.

SecretAgentCakeBaker Posted 22 Apr 2011 , 1:11pm
post #4 of 14

I'm sorry to hear that. Our homeschool group was recently having a discussion about scholarships and such. The experienced moms said that they have found the expensive schools have lots of money to give out and will many times give out full or close to full scholarships quite easily to talented students, which obviously your son is. I also heard this on a radio program the other day. The woman on the show said many students don't know this and avoid applying to those schools because they think they cannot afford it.

Congratulations and Best of luck to your son!

Kiddiekakes Posted 22 Apr 2011 , 2:33pm
post #5 of 14

That is just plain cruel..Instead of sending such a hurtful letter they should have just announced that due to funding cuts the scholarships will temperaily be suspended ...or something but to say you qualify but won't get it is just plain ignorant!!

warchild Posted 22 Apr 2011 , 6:57pm
post #6 of 14
Quote: