Buying Buttercream? Using Pre-Made Buttercream?

Decorating By MeganTavera Updated 17 May 2013 , 9:15pm by ann1112

MeganTavera Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MeganTavera Posted 21 Apr 2011 , 1:04pm
post #1 of 12

ok so im new here and hopefully wont offend anyone by asking this. i have never used already made buttercreams before but was thinking on trying it out. ive tried looking up some things on the wilton buttercream mix and also CK white fluffy buttercream. has anyone ever used these? or any type of already made buttercreams? do you/would you as a cake decorator use this or consider using this?

Thanks icon_smile.gif

11 replies
tamdan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tamdan Posted 21 Apr 2011 , 4:38pm
post #2 of 12

I think a lot of cake decorators use premade buttercream as it is a time saver. I would not recommend using the Wilton buttercream. I used it once on a pinch because I ran out and it tasted awful. I have never used CK's buttercream. I usually make my own because I love the taste of Italian Meringue Butter Cream and haven't found any place that will sell it pre made. If I need regular buttercream, I will purchase it from a cake supply store.

MeganTavera Posted 21 Apr 2011 , 6:00pm
post #3 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tamdan

I think a lot of cake decorators use premade buttercream as it is a time saver. I would not recommend using the Wilton buttercream. I used it once on a pinch because I ran out and it tasted awful. I have never used CK's buttercream. I usually make my own because I love the taste of Italian Meringue Butter Cream and haven't found any place that will sell it pre made. If I need regular buttercream, I will purchase it from a cake supply store.